Christmas is coming, the goose is getting fat

Not that I’d eat a Canadian goose, but its the first photo I found!  I remember singing these quirky songs in elementary school, doing recitals decked out in red and green homemade glitter hats, waiting with anticipation for that BIG day…or in my family’s tradition, X-mas eve.

I sang in the church (Episcopal) choir in those days, as did my mom and dad.  I’d get to open one gift before going to late night mass and brag to my friends about what Santa had brought me…while they had to wait until the next day to find out.

I contrast those days with how I celebrate the holidays now, and it feels like a very different world.  Now I dedicate my time to helping others, offering free Reiki for stress reduction (hope you can make the 12/6 Holiday gala at Philosophy, Books and Tea 3-6pm),  and the gifts these days tend to be mindful and health-conscious.  No bragging.

But what I did love was on Christmas eve, the church would turn down the lights, the candles would reflect off the beautiful blue stained glass and a palpable sense of community and thanksgiving would be felt amongst the congregation.

I feel that at Reiki circles, and the ones we will be holding the 1st and 3rd Tuesdays in December from 6:30-8:3opm at East West Bookshop will be no different.  I don’t know if we can get the store to dim down the lights, but we can definitely bring some twinkling lights to add ambiance!

Being a ‘lightworker’ with a name that literally means ‘light’ this is a holiday season I enjoy (not to mention being a Sagittarius!).

Remember to enjoy and turn off the shopping ads when it gets too much, don’t brag, but embrace!

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 158,069 hits
