Writing is an exploration. You start from nothing and learn as you go.

The quote is from E.L. Doctorow.  And it’s so true.  I’m back at the page again, this time writing 5 different article requests from magazines across North America.  Yep, my book interest is taking off.  But its a quiet revolution.  From the writing side, that is.

You spend time alone.  Contemplating what you know.  Getting it down on the page.  Doing research.  In my case, my cats keep me company and some soft music.  It’s not bad, its just very…solitary.

Those of you who know me know I have that side, but the major part of my personality is extroverted…so it’s a challenge to be this introspective for hours at a shot.  And that’s all I’m able to do.  A few hours here…get out and make connections…come back…a few hours more…and then I’m done for the day.

I remember reading that Hemingway worked for 4 or 5 hours in the morning, would go down to Key West and drink the rest of the afternoon.  Ok, that worked for him.   I have actually tried it once or twice.  I can see why he drank!

For me, it’s like 2 hour bursts, then a lot of external activity and then maybe 2 hours more going within.  Such a challenge if you’ve ever tried being consistent with writing.

Doing blog work is a lot more liberating, I enjoy that process much more….but blogs aren’t exactly articles, but many have served as a foundation for what I write about.

I need to get back to painting and acting.  They are other art forms that aren’t so restrictive.   My new year’s resolution!!!

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 151,766 hits
