The river says: “I want to be a river”

Yesterday we went down to the Duwamish, where in a few days we’ll facilitate the next blessing of the season.

I wanted to ask the river what more it might need from the gathering of practitioners who come each month on the 15th from 6-7pm at the waterway park.

I gazed out across it’s banks, watching the geese come and go in pairs.  A small tugboat glided by and left and long wake.

So I asked the river, “What more do you need?”.  It’s response was, “I want to be a river”.

I affirmed that it was a beautiful river, and it had many animals, plants and people who were working to help it.

Again, the gentle statement, “I want to be a river”.  So I reflected on that answer and felt that the blessings we were doing were helping this beautiful body of water be honored, but that perhaps at our next gathering we could also perform an event or ritual that would embrace the spirit of what a river is about:  ecosystem, transportation for animals and people, a source of life.

I honor all living creatures desire to become what they truly are.  I honor you Duwamish.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James Bulls
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 11:05:25

    One of my favorite movies is Hayao Miyazaki’s “Spirited Away,” a film about a young girl trapped in the spirit world working at a luxury bathhouse for a cruel witch so she can lift the curse that turned her parents into pigs. At one point in the movie, the girl – Sen – must bathe a revoltingly filthy spirit; it looks like a walking mud-puddle and its smell is enough to ruin food! The witch wants to turn the stink spirit away, but decides to just bathe him quickly for a fast in-and-out. Sen not only bathes the stink spirit and also helps remove the rubbish that was contaminating him; turns out, he was a river spirit and on his departure he flooded the bathhouse with gold. It’s nice to think that beautiful river gods live among us, isn’t it? And perhaps even worse to think that we neglect and poison them through our own wastefulness.

  2. reikitrainingprogram
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 11:24:23

    Beautiful post! I have seen Spirited Away and resonated with the movie very much. Aho!

Blog Stats

  • 151,911 hits
