Meandering of the mind on a misty day

I was 27.  I had been practicing Reiki only a year.  My life was in total transition.  I had divorced the year before and was finishing graduate school.  I was taking my first steps as a counselor at a community clinic.

I lived in a walk-up studio apartment on the 3rd floor of an old house with my cat and parakeet.  It was the first time I had lived on my own, not in relationship with anyone.

When I wen t back East to NJ on my book tour this summer, I drove past that old house and neighborhood.  Many of the same stores were still there and the neighborhood was the same.

I thought of the times I would bike to school, spend time with my cat, getting my first Reiki table, participating in Reiki circles.  All of it was so new and at times overwhelming.

I was fellow students with a whole international community and at one point was even invited to go with a colleague to her home town of Isfahan in Persia, or Iran.

This was before 9/11, before the Middle East revolutions of the last year.  I often wonder what that trip would have been like had I taken it.

In those days, any chance I had to travel the world I jumped at, eventually going on a month sojourn through Britain and France.

I wrote daily in my journal, read Rumi and Joseph Campbell and wondered about my future career as a counselor.

Here I am 15 years later, living a much more established life, still travelling, still practicing Reiki and evolved in my profession.

When the skies in Seattle, like they are today, become overcast, I become reflective.  I’m thinking about that untaken trip to Persia.  Perhaps another opportunity will present itself in years to come.  Perhaps with social media (that didn’t exist a decade ago) I can find my Isfahan friend.  Meanderings of the mind on a misty day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. James Bulls
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:05:21

    I often have thoughts like that, too – I once had an opportunity to go to Russian for three months and teach English in Siberia. Okay, it was western Siberia and the town looked like Italy in the summer (and, well, Siberia for 7 months in the winter), but still – it was an amazing opportunity. I waffled on it and never went, but you know if I had done things differently I probably wouldn’t have met my wife. Different roads, different destinations – had to say where any of them will go.

  2. reikitrainingprogram
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 08:23:36

    Agreed, agreed, ‘different roads, different destinations’…I think Siberia would have been fun! Just like Persia…who knows, perhaps there will be other opportunities to come….thanks for your post!

Blog Stats

  • 156,361 hits
