The Bittersweet of Reiki and Money

As Reiki students, we invest much of our time and money into training and continuing education to make use the best possible practitioners.  With so many options for variations in training, it’s tempting to do the ‘quick and cheap’ way of achieving our enlightenment.  A myriad of programs have developed:  online classes, downloadable attunements, Reiki training in a box.  “Fast-food Reiki”, as I call it, is tempting, just as the food is, but what’s the nourishment content?

Creating the Reiki Training Program with it’s emphasis on waiting times between levels, additional coursework for enhancement of practice might seem long and tedious and unnecessary.

However, if a student is serious about their work with Reiki and wishes to take it into a professional environment, ‘Reiki in a Box’ just won’t work.  A standard needs to be conveyed.

But often the decision to pursue the short path is based on finances.  I understand that.  I personally went through that experience in my own training.  My teacher was of the Reiki Alliance, where to become a master a student had to pay $10,000.  I don’t think I had even paid that much for the undergraduate education at a state college.

My teacher had allowed me to ‘work off’ the amount through referring students to her, but it didn’t sit right with me.  I also felt the amount was way high for a method that was seemingly simple.

I completed my training requirements with her and went on my way, finishing out my master training with another teacher, from which I learned about integrating other modalities, such as sound healing and shamanism.

It wasn’t the greatest feeling to leave my initial teacher of almost two years because of a fee amount I disagreed with, but it felt in line with who I was and what I stood for.

So, my intention when I created the Reiki Training Program was always to make that master level affordable to students.

If I had one regret, it was to have completed my training with my initial teacher, or to have ended on a sweeter note.  If she had been open to finding other solutions, perhaps that could have happened, but alas, it did not.

As a teacher myself, now practicing Reiki for over 15 years, I’ve had students come and go.  I also stick by my standards and traditions that often come into conflict with other student’s desires and personal goals.  So I hold space for the time when they are to go on their own way.

I wish money didn’t get in the way of student’s decisions, but it often does.  Where I differ with my teacher has been in making various plans and options available.  But at the end of the day, when you are the teacher, Reiki is about the student’s journey.  So I step back and bow and know they will have their own learning through the bittersweet taste of Reiki and Money.

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 149,116 hits
