Seattle 2011: Summer without sun

Ok, not completely true, but for those of us who have been waiting for summer to take off, you know what I mean.

It’s a little challenging to wake up on an August morning and smell the scent of autumn in the air!  To notice that blackberry bushes are bearing their fruit already and ‘Back-to-School’ is on everyone’s mind.

Wow.  What an interesting summer that never was!  I mentioned to friends and family the other day that I’m glad to have had a cruise in the Mediterranean and a weekend trip to Montana for my Vitamin D quota!

But I don’t think I’m the only living thing that has noticed the lack of sun this year.  My tomato plants, that would now be bearing ripe, red and juicy fruits are stunted.  When I go to give them water, they say to me in their own way, ‘Do you think we’ll still have time?’

Maybe it’s our nature in the Northwest to comment and complain about the weather, since it is such a part of the fabric of our day-to-day.  It touches the trees and mountains we look at.  The weather embraces the abundant water that surrounds us.  It connects us to air from Asia to the East and the frozen lands of the North.

When something is amiss, we communally feel it.  We’re in this together, afterall.

I said a long time ago when I moved here that above that cloud layer is the beautiful sun, even if I can’t see it, I know that bright star is shining.  This has been the first year in over twelve where I’ve missed that star’s presence for weeks at a stretch.

So this blog is my greeting card to the sun to tempt him to come out of hiding, maybe one more time, maybe for an entire week!  Maybe the title should have been ‘Coaxing the Sun’.  I know in native traditions, they had dances and offerings for rain, but what about sun?  I simply offer a wish, come out of hiding, let us see you before the fall rains come around.  Let us embrace your warmth and light, just one more time!!

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 156,361 hits
