Nurturing the flower of our precious health

When our health comes apart we realize how precious it actually is.  I recently learned of a dear friend who suffered a heart attack.   How could that happen?  He is only a little older than me?  I’ve known him and his wife for over 20 years and just saw him last year.   Luckily we have amazing advances in medicine to help and my friend is so far, doing ok, suffering as much from the shock of it as the actual physical experience.

But it’s another experience on the spiral of life that reminds me on how important it is to continue to nurture the flower of our precious health.  We get it drilled into our heads by the media about lifestyle choices and diet, taking time out, etc.  We live in a society where our medical system is one of the advanced in the world.  And yet, with all of that, we are still very much human.  We have finite capabilities.  We are mortal.

So then I begin to think about how much each moment is incredibly precious.  The decisions we decide to make.  What is really important?  What friendships and what relationships we want and need in our lives. Our we living our heart’s desire?

It’s too easy in our culture to get lulled into a sense of immortality.  We can convince ourselves, ‘Oh, there will be time for me to do that’, or, ‘I’ll get around to it’.  And it might be true, our iphones will probably outlast our physical bodies, but their batteries will not.

How can we nurture our own batteries?  I’m reminded of how Reiki as a practice has helped my own spirit over the years.  It has taught me about loving myself as much as loving others.  Giving myself permission to receive each moment as well as being present as a compassionate witness for others.

With this news of my friend, I send Reiki both to him and his wife as well as have a deeper appreciation for this breath, and the next one.  I know they both will be going through a lot in nurturing back to health.

But I am reminded of the same Latin root for the word ‘healing’.  That is ‘Whole’.  So as we heal, we become whole.  We return to a greater state of awareness.  I support them in light for this daunting and yet transformational process.

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 156,361 hits
