Knowing when to need more

Last night I went to a live figure drawing session of models in the nude.  Now,  I can sketch flowers and landscapes with relative ease and flow.  The human form, in it’s bareness, wow, now that is a big challenge.  The sketches I did are merely attempts, now worth of a blog post.  And I’m confronted with that uncomfortable feeling, I need more training in art.

In my Reiki work, I’m a big proponent of the phrase, ‘less is more’.  Don’t overwhelm yourself with various trainings.  Stick to one path until you achieve mastery.  But then, I do have over 15 years experience working with that technique.  I have a master’s degree in counseling, I’ve worked directly with thousands of people, developing my own technique of Insight Reiki.

But delving into another form, like figure drawing, is where I acknowledge, I need more.  Luckily, there are many books and classes around to help the fledgling artist scratch down the basics of musculature, proportion and shadow.

I think I’ve steered away from it in my other art of painting for so long because it always seemed so focused, so particular.  It is.  Human beings are amazing complex, I know that working with their psychologies and energy fields.

Now I’m motivated to capture their exterior, as much as I honor the interior.  The little bits of practice I have had at these figure drawing sessions shows me I also see the energy of the models I’m drawing.  I find this really curious, and am excited to see where these two ways of seeing eventually meld.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Oct 04, 2011 @ 20:30:07

    Wonderful expansion Eileen! You’ll uncover so many new mysteries through this as well. If I may, I HIGHLY recommend the Gage Academy to you. The training you’ll be exposed to there is incredible! They have many 2d and 3d classes to chose from. The school is based in the tradition of the Ecole des Beaux-Arts in Paris and the Art Students League in New York, and it specializes in the human form. My daughter spent a solid year in the atelier program there. Her skills and character grew immeasurably! She gained the confidence she needed to apply and be accepted to Parson’s in New York, where she is presently studying.

Blog Stats

  • 153,257 hits
