Taking Reiki to the streets

With everything going on in the world, now is a time more than ever to take Reiki to the streets.  What do I mean by that?  I mean taking Reiki to the people.  Whether that be the folks who come into your office, to your circle, or literally, out into the streets.

One of my colleagues spent over 10 hours giving Reiki sessions to the Occupy movement in Seattle to those who were hoarse from chanting.  That might be extreme, but it’s a true example of community in action.

In my own world, I often give Reiki to the homeless as well as the boxed in plants in concrete as I walk the streets, knowing that the healing energy will help in the highest regard.

It’s a time for action, a time for all of us as lightworkers to implement our skills both individually and collectively to help the world as it goes through the amazing changes that are occuring.

Find the calling that resonates with you.  Maybe it is the homeless, maybe it’s working at a domestic violence shelter, maybe it’s giving your time at a food bank or soup kitchen.  All of these are ways of spreading the light to the people and places that need them.

I’m going to volunteer here in Southern CA with an organization that reaches out, specifically asking for Reiki practitioners.  In the Seattle area, the Hospice organization at Evergreen Hospital in Kirkland is looking for volunteers.  Feel free to contact.

The world, plainly and simply, needs light.  I spend a lot of my days being sarcastic and cynical towards material consumption, so my antidote is to reach out and offer more of myself and the abundant and infinite source of Reiki.

How do you do this?  Call.  Email.  Show-up.  Simple as that.  If a table is needed, bring one.  Or a Reiki chair.  It can be done anywhere with anyone, all they need to give you is permission to receive.

If that seems to woo-woo, just ask if they are open to receiving a relaxation session that will help calm their nervous system.

That’s what Reiki does best and that is why it is needed right now.

In January, our group, The Reiki Fellowship will be performing another outreach to the families and patients at the Ronald McDonald House in Seattle.  Find where you are called to be.

And so it is, and so it shall be.  It’s time to make a difference and not just talk about doing so.  Make it happen for real!!!  This is the true way of ‘occupying’ with light!!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Anonymous
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 08:48:23

    Did I mention to you the article I’m writing for RJ? It’s title Taking it to the Streets referes to using Reiki in conjunction to street medicine. I have actually created a subtitle to clarify that.

    Your post is interesting.

    Thanks!

    Brian M Dotson

  2. April Yslava
    Dec 04, 2011 @ 15:33:17

    What organization is it in Southern Cali…I live out here and would like to know more.
    Thanks!

Blog Stats

  • 152,135 hits
