A perspective on temporary vs. enduring

Currently living in a one bedroom apartment that faces an alley way that constantly has delivery, recycling and garbage trucks coming and going is not something I will ever get used to.  Living in a small space also amplifies all the appliances since they are closer in proximity:  refrigerator, dishwasher, even the toilet flushing seems obnoxious.

I bought myself and my cats a bubbling water fountain to add some degree to tranquil sound to an otherwise very city-like experience.

Yesterday morning, the blaring fire alarm for the building went off and dressed only in my pajamas and armed with my two cats in their carriers I hastily exited.  Only a few residents were still home at the time, most dressed ready to go to work.  We gathered outside which was actually a relative peaceful and sunny day.

However, no one looked to be in a good mood, disrupted from their routines, concerned about what had happened.

I sat down on the curb, cats in tow, waiting for the fire truck to come and investigate.  They found that one of the belts in the elevator had burned out, nothing more, but it could have been worse.

I had the first realization that being at the mercy of an apartment building is not a comforting feeling. It’s beyond my control.  I have a control-freak in me that is quietly revolting this thought.

I also thought that if it had been a major fire, or for that matter a natural disaster like an earthquake, which will eventually happen here in CA, at least my cats and I would be safe, and I did manage to take my lap top and cell phone with me.  My immediate needs would be to get shelter and clothes, but having volunteered with Red Cross, I know they can provide for those immediate things that need replacing.

What gave me the greatest solace was that I could return back to my home waiting for me in Seattle.  I even have another car there, my beloved Jeep, so I wouldn’t be without transportation.  If I lost this apartment and my car, I wouldn’t lose my whole life.  I started to contemplate what is temporary and what is enduring.

Material things, temporary.  Your health, home and love ones, enduring.  Your job, temporary.  Your life work, enduring.  Relationships, even though we don’t like to admit it, temporary, but true love and respect, enduring.

As I returned back to the apartment, I buried myself under the comfort of blankets and a put a hand-made eye pillow across my face.  As I placed my Reiki hands over my torso, I could feel the jostling experience of facing a possible disaster begin to leave my body as I went deeper back to sleep.

Hours later I awoke, everything seemingly back to normal:  the recycling trucks banging along, the sounds of residents walking in the hall, and the hum of the refrigerator in the kitchen.

I went to a Meetup group later that evening entitled “Wise Women Celebrating their Greatness”, and it was the balm my soul needed to round out the day.  Several women, all at least ten years older than I, shared their stories of their lives, wisdom and work they do and have done.  I’ll blog more about this tomorrow, but what I was reminded of was what is truly enduring, what cannot be shaken:  it is the calling we all have within us to be who we are to the world.

That realization and experience has given me peace and a new perspective on what is really important and what is to be passed on by.

Photo credit.

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 156,533 hits
