Riding the wave of being portable

I think I’ve finally embraced being portable.  It’s taken me almost 3 weeks, but I can feel in my being I’m more light and flexible, having temporarily traded a very stationary and solid 4 bedroom home for a tiny one bedroom apartment in a different city.

What I like about portability is that I am truly practicing ‘detachment’, of things, of places, even of my professional role.  I don’t feel weighed down.

It’s kind of a fun, transient experience.  What’s going to happen next?  Whatever does, I’ve got my hiking boots on and my wallet and hey, ready to go.

This is a good shift.  For the last 3 weeks I really have been bemoaning not being back at my permanent abode and the city of Seattle, which I love.  And I do still miss it, but I feel a change in perspective.  I’m even up to saying I am embracing the constant known as change rather than fight and brood about it.  I feel a sense of freedom.

Maybe I’m finally succumbing to the ungroundedness that literally is Southern California, the earth constantly shifting and every few weeks, if not more frequent, a measurable earthquake is detected.

I’m not freaked out by it, but rather, rolling with it, like how a surfer rides the waves.  When is the next one coming?  Ahh, on it now, riding it in and crash!  Into the shore.  Swim back out, to catch the next transient wave.  The ocean never stops moving.  The earth doesn’t either.  And my small, tiny, human existence, is also in motion.

I feel like I can embrace the montage of sayings I’ve heard for years and have always thought quaint of living on the West Coast:  “It’s all good”, “No worries”, “Right on, man”.

But, in my defense, I am NOT turning into any kind of Malibu Barbie.  Let’s just get that straight.  Bikinis and beaches, although pretty to look at, just aren’t my thing.  But ‘chillin’ out’, wow, who would have thought?  Those that know me well would say, “Eileen, it’s about time”.

It is about time.  Maybe ten years overdue.  I’ve been putting blood, sweat and tears into my own business all that time, cultivating community, making milestones happen in the Reiki world.  Can I admit I’m finally giving myself a break?  (sound of clashing symbols)

This last month, I think I’ve been struggling with that age-old question, “But what am I going/supposed to do now that I’m in this place?”…it’s turned into (to quote the Beatles), “Just let it be”.

(Now the other side of my responsible personality comes forth)  But, I have been ‘stirring the pot’ in LA, and I have some very promising Reiki opportunities coming up.  So yes, I have been working and doing.  Tune in on Thursday morning for our next Distant Healing session.

But today, I’m choosing to ride the wave without agenda, to see where it takes me and what I might end up crashing into.  This is a big step for me.  It’s all good!

Photo credit.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Brian M Dotson
    Dec 14, 2011 @ 10:27:17

    I like to travel, but always miss Seattle. I’m sure in July, somehow I won’t be thinking of much here sitting in Beirut Lebanon. Hopefully closer to the places I most want to send healing peace.

    Peace and blessings!

Blog Stats

  • 153,220 hits
