Making Space for Great Inner Transformation

The body responds to change by bracing itself. Oh no, what’s coming, how will I have to react? Its tendency is to shut down when colliding, and its an appropriate biological response-protection of the Self. But what if instead we opened up to the change?

Opened our very beingness to it. Made space for the change, let down the guard. How would we experience it then? The edges wouldn’t seem as starkly contrasting. The edges would be blurred, so the point where we ended and the change began would be smoother. Transition and transformation would be smoother.

Opening and making space for change has to start at this level-first in the self. Then if enough people are open to experiencing change this way they create a unified field. This, by laws of resonance and entrainment stimulate others to adapt and adjust to change in the same manner.

You have to feel safe within yourself to be so open. You have to trust, in some-thing greater than you, having faith that you aren’t just blindly walking forward, being vulnerable. You give yourself permission to be in a state of not knowing.

Here’s what I wrote making space in my body and my world after meeting a friend who knew me several years ago before I went through the dramatic changes that occurred in my life to bring me to this point in my own inner transformation:

Recovery by Eileen Dey

I’m left standing looking at the shell I once thought I was

I poke around at the ashes of the skin once so familiar and comforting.

Now I’m naked and bare.

Raw. Vulnerable but strong.

I am aware I have been burned.

Beware of fire you once said.

I threw caution to the wind and plunged deep,

after the essence of the white flame.

My nerves now vibrate with jarring frequency,

aware of the price fire bathing brings upon the self.

Doses and doses of fire.

To feel, to remember, what you always were.

Acknowledge this. Feel it at your core.

Your new birth is the Phoenix birth-from the flames.

Her wings spread out wide so that her reach is far greater than ever before.

You are transformed through letting go,

through surrendering,

gaining perspective and wisdom in what is no more

and what is now coming to be.

Photo credit

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanine Gilmaher
    Feb 22, 2012 @ 10:35:16

    Beautiful, Eileen, beautiful. That really resonates as someone who has plunged into the fire and is now standing in water, finding a gentler flow.

    Thank you. May your change flow seamlessly in gentle kaizen.

Blog Stats

  • 153,257 hits
