Breaking away to come back together

2013-05-06 12.47.55Yesterday with unseasonable weather topping 87 degrees in Seattle I played a little hookey from work and took a mini-road trip up north to lovely Camano Island.  I didn’t have clients until later in the day, but the act of ‘breaking away’ still made me feel a bit nervous, excited and yes, guilty!

As I drove along the highway, mile by mile, song by song on the radio, my guilt started to lessen and I began to enjoy the process of letting go.  Working from home requires me to be more vigilant about taking breaks and without a ‘boss’ it’s often been a challenge to give myself this permission.

Having sober, self-honoring fun without an agenda had been too long coming.  I took in the day to the fullest, hiking along the beach, inhaling the Sound and being grateful for having this time to myself.

I didn’t have unlimited time, but enough that upon my return I could energetically feel my whole being filled with light, space, happiness, and joy.  It was a high like no other.  It sounds so simple to do, but making that time and then taking that time are two different tasks that often don’t come into play.  I was happy I honored my intuition that said ‘you must go!’.

The lesson of breaking away to come back together.  I need to revisit this often!

Copyright 2013 Eileen Dey

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 150,217 hits
