The Happiness of Embracing Temperance Day 10

temperanceOn the Temperance card stands a winged angel.  The angel has one foot on dry land, representative of the material world, and one foot in the water, representative of the subconscious. In this position, she also represents the need to ‘test the waters’ before jumping headfirst into unknown circumstances. Here she tempers the whimsical flight of the Fool who jumps without giving a second thought.  The temperate individual mixes the opposites and finds a balance in life by avoiding extremes. The astrological sign is Sagittarius, the teacher of truth, enthusiasm, tolerance and beauty.

For many years, I lived more within the domain of the Fool card, jumping in headfirst, not taking responsibility for consequences.  Most of the time, things had a way of working out.  Yet, there were plenty of situations that began to accumulate and result in self-imposed hardships.  I needed to find another way.

One of these ways was following and practicing the path of Reiki, which as most of you know, has served me and the community quite well.  I’m forever grateful for that discovery.

Another path, a newer one, has been one of Temperance in lifestyle.  For over a year my body has received the benefits of a gluten and (mostly) dairy-free diet filled with fresh fruit and vegetables and limited processed foods.  The ‘arthritis’ I was diagnosed with is gone, and the energy level I have both physically and mentally is quite steady day in and day out.  I attribute the Abascal Way to this transformation.  I’ve also been able to keep my weight in a steady, slimmer frame.

The other path, one of sobriety from alcohol, is another incredible influence that has shifted my worldview.  No longer needing to ‘numb out’ from either external or self-imposed hardships, I walk forward each day with a clear mind.  When difficulties arise, I have new tools and a new community of other non-drinkers that address life challenges in a much more brave and less dramatic way.   Since this Tarot card is the astrological sign of Sagittarius, which my sun and rising sign are in, I feel like I’m finally coming home, and I cherish that every day.

Embracing Temperance is for me, what the Buddhists call walking ‘the middle path or way’.  Sometimes it can be so quiet, because there isn’t any chaos, and in that silence, like a still lake, there are depths of clarity I’m only starting to realize.

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 152,135 hits
