Self-employment and patriotism happiness day 17

Self-EmployedFinally I have a day off in the middle of the week to go partake in this beautiful Northwest summer.  This is the joy of being self-employed, being able to have flexibility in your work schedule.

What lies ahead today?  A trip to the zoo?  A nature hike?  Some other outing where three teenagers and myself journey together in celebrating life?

Yesterday I had a full day of clients, who’s stories inspire me as they search to find meaning in their own lives despite the tragedies that life often brings.  At the end of the day, I found fellowship in my sober friends and watched an inspiring movie on the courage and bravery of Navy Seals in Afghanistan.

Whenever I watch a film, attend and event, or do the Reiki work I do with veterans, I am in awe and gratitude for the service of the men and women who fight for our country.  I’ve blogged about this before.  I am a liberal patriot.  I am happy to be an American.  There is an outreach organization called Soldier’s Project where mental health counselors offer services to wounded warriors.  It’s our way of giving back.

But both these topics, self-employment and patriotism, make me extremely happy.  They are about celebrating freedom.  No country’s politics are perfect, but the US is good model that has allowed all of the work I do, for civilians and and veterans to benefit.  For those that have seen the film Team America, you can play the soundtrack to this blog!

Ok, off my high horse, now on to the day ahead.

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 150,217 hits
