The Happiness of Rest

5416_111139873582_653163582_2360562_7103406_nI slept 12 hours last night.  That is almost 2 days worth of sleep for me.  I trust my body, so it must have needed a catch-up from all the activity and work I’ve been doing since adding 3 teenagers to my home almost 3 weeks ago.

Rest is lovely.  It’s a place of peace.  When I sleep, I sleep deep.  Light, noise and movement can happen all around me, but I’ve gone into the zone.  Many years of self-Reiki practice have taught my body to relax and stay relaxed for extended periods of time.

12 hours is close to a record for me.  Maybe there was another occurence before this, but it hasn’t happened in a very long time, maybe 10 years.  When I’m sick, sure, I do rest and sleep, but not usually in one long chunk of time.

Anyway, it makes for a very happy and clear mind upon waking.  My body now tells me it needs some stretching, for sure, and a good walk through the park later today should help work out the kinks.

I’m grateful to my body for knowing what it needs, and I’m grateful I can give myself permission to receive it’s wisdom.

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 147,627 hits
