The Happiness of a Clear Mind

71698_444606253582_653163582_5487713_1048131_nI’m glad I don’t party anymore.  I wake up with a clear head and a full day that is full of potential.  I’m reminded of my choice by watching the actions of my 18 and 21 year-old step sons saunter in at 5am this morning after a ‘night on the town’.

They look a little worse for the wear, but I remember at that age, you could be out all night and still make it through the next day.  Ah, the benefits of youth.

But what would my own youth have been like if I had chosen a different path in those days?  I question that, because back then, I kept thinking that was the norm.  Everyone I knew drank, stayed out late and partied to have fun.  Even into my 20’s and 30’s, there would be nights where I’d stay up late with friends, going out, indulging, and dealing with the after-effects the next day.  It never got easier, but I didn’t know there was another way.

I’m glad that’s not my world any more.  I don’t need to party to have fun or be social.  There is a whole calendar of events for every day of the week of things to do, places to see and people to meet without taking it to the extreme.

Life is more quiet, overall, but I feel at peace.  It’s the greatest gift of sobriety.  It makes me more available as a human.

But for my stepsons, that’s their world right now.  Perhaps both their father and I, who don’t drink or smoke, present an option to them, for some time in the future.

In the meantime, this morning, I’m just happy for a clear mind.

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 151,911 hits
