Having a mentor happiness

menI left my counseling Reiki mentors over 15 years ago and embarked on my own journey of becoming a teacher and practitioner.  I’ve had amazing colleagues in both disciplines who have molded and shaped my work, but no one I truly consider a mentor.

What do I mean by mentor?  It’s someone whom you spend time with consistently, whether though classes, books, or just by their very presence of doing.

My own Reiki teachers, Cherie and Alena were that to me.  I shadowed them for years before stepping out on my own.

My graduate school professors, both named Eileen, by coincidence or serendipity, were also mentors, who I met with each week to hone my abilities at listening, guiding and asking provocative questions.  They encouraged me to take risks as a beginning counselor.

But life goes on, and I built up much of my practice without a direct mentor, stepping into the shoes as one myself for the students I have worked with over the years.

And lo and behold, one day, I’m in a bookstore in Seattle and find a book I read way back then, Love’s Excecutioner by Irvin D. Yalom, an existential psychiatrist who’s work I had admired back in school.

I felt Irv talking to me through his words and validating the decisions I have made as a practitioner, now seasoned with time.

I feel I’ve found a mentor again, and have been voraciously reading 3 of his books, at the same time.  It’s less about advice, and more about guidance, for holding that sacred space of psychotherapy.

I look forward to this journey of being mentored, by him, and by other psychotherapists of similar mind.

Eileen Dey 2014

 

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 156,361 hits
