Happiness for Flexible Time

flex-timeI am incredibly grateful for having a flexible schedule, I see it whenever I visit other work environments, where that isn’t the case.  I recently had lunch with colleagues who work for a start-up in the funky Fremont neighborhood of Seattle.

It’s a great location, the office environment is artsy and chill, but everyone who works there stays there all day.  Every day, 5-6 days a week.

Sure, employees might be able to go in later/leave early, get an hour here or there for appointments, but they are beholden to a structure, whether it’s 9-5, 8-6 or any other arrangement that management has deemed effective.

I’ve found personally, I can put in an 8, 10 or even 12 hour day, several days a week, but not every day, not 5 or 6 days of week.  That begins to wear me down and alter the fabric of my attitude.  Having this freedom is more important to me, and probably always has.

Being self-employed, some weeks  I put in a steady 6 hours every single day, for 7 days without break.  But that is rare.  When I see it coming on my calendar, the 8th and 9th day are free.

I used to work in the traditional system, so I’m not a stranger to it, but self-employment has shown me another way to structure time.  So grateful, so happy for that ability and for finding a healthy and sustainable way to strike life/work balance.

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 156,537 hits
