Desert Punk Happiness

spiky-punk NJ and AZ are part of what make up my world view.    I’ve probably become something of a ‘Desert Punk’ with these two different US subcultures running through me.

Jersey, easily stereotyped, rough, obnoxious, sarcastic, provided me with a streetwise view of the world.  I’m grateful for the upbringing there, but just as grateful I call another part of the country home.

Arizona, on the other hand, started as a vacation land and became familial domain beginning some 34 years ago.   The wide expanse of the desert continues to remind me of my saguaro spirit:  self-contained and self-sufficient.  The desert can be harsh, especially in the summer, and it’s not for the faint of heart.  But the desert has also taught me to appreciate wide open spaces and expansive sky and to look for life in all it’s forms, from the horned toad which blends in perfect camouflage with it’s surroundings, to the Palo Verde trees with their ‘green skin’ that provide extra chlorophyll in order to make up for having tiny or no leaves.

That survival instinct runs through both cultures, Northeast and Southwest, I need to think more on this.

I’m going to meditate a bit more on how these two influences have shaped me, and will continue the happiness quest in doing so.  Stay tuned for more!

Eileen Dey 2014

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 154,892 hits
