Living in Balance

gt“How do you stay so calm?” asked the young print shop clerk I’ve worked with for years.  “It’s right here on the handouts I’m printing”, I said as I pointed to the word on the cover, “Reiki“.  “It’s a method for managing stress”, I continued.  He then told me he needed to find such a technique, as his doctor had warned him he could suffer heart problems from continuing the way he had been going.  “Josh, your such a young guy!  Do you have high blood pressure?”.  Josh solemnly agreed.

Josh, the amazing print shop maverick, who has saved so many classes and events I’vetaught by going the extra mile to make sure all the printed materials were done on time is 28 years old. I suddenly saw him in an even more compassionate light.  He’s told me bits and pieces about his life as we’ve interacted over the years.  I like that about the clerks I’ve come to know at print shops, because you get to have relationships with people who really do make a difference to your life and work.I think the next time I go in I’m gifting him aReiki session, an early Christmas present.  He deserves it.Later in the day, aReiki student of mine also inquired on how I maintain balance in my life, with all the activities and work I do.  I told her it was less a ‘secret formula’ and more a dedication to my own self-care.As I’ve gotten busier over this past year, the frequency of when I receive bodywork has increased.  I get some form of bodywork usually once a week.  Sometimes it’s twice a week.  That’s only 2 hours to the days spent in service as a teacher and practitioner, but those 2 hours are my recharging stations.  Depending on how I feel, I getReiki (of course),massage, Zenshiatsu, or acupuncture.   Those 4 techniques help maintain my energy flow.I’ve mentioned I also shifted my diet about a year ago.  I’m gluten and dairy-free.  I also gave up alcohol.  Amazing difference.  I have more sustained energy throughout the day.And I wish I could say I’m dedicated to a physical exercise practice, but I’m getting there.  It’s hard to find an extra hour for that each day, so my goal is usually 2-3/week.What else?  Attitude.  I’m something like 80 plus days into this happiness blog marathon, it’s definitely helped!  And support from my family, partner and friends.  I feel blessed to be living in balance!Eileen Dey 2014

 

Comments are closed.

Blog Stats

  • 147,602 hits
